Aniblog 2014: [Day 494] What it is + disqualifications/brackets

Aniblog — By on February 7, 2015 11:47 am

This post was written by Dark_Sage. He is Dark_Sage.

Twitter YouTube   


Has it really been this long since we started? My, how the time flies. I wonder how my lovely aniblog scene has been doing without the guidance of its king.

Aniblog 2012

A Brief-ish History

Spoiler:

Back in early 2012, when we were still Whiners.Pro, one of our staff (Kyonyuu) suggested we enter an anime blog contest, because “Hey, why not?” So we did, not quite realizing how much entertainment we were setting ourselves up for.

Oh me

If you want to relive (most of) the experience, I suggest reading the earliest Aniblog posts in tandem with the Aniblog tournament blog. You’ll miss out on what was happening on IRC, social media, and the other blogs, but about 80% of the most amusing drama was on here and the tourney blog.

 

Anyway, the gist is… anime blogging was (and is) even more insular and circle-jerky than fansubbing is today. So when we joined the tournament, nobody had any idea what Whiners was about, or even that we were (and are) one of the ten largest anime blogs around. And in a popularity contest, being popular is apparently a really good way to get very far.

Since I didn’t want to enter us and just leave the polls to the aniblogger scene, I decided to involve Whiners in the tourney… by reviewing (almost) every blog in each round, and suggesting which ones people should vote for. It got quite sagey~

Aniblog_FirstRound

Well, suffice to say, the aniblog community was not pleased with the course of the tournament after that. I kept writing about blogs, and people kept getting mad I was influencing the results and calling their blogs shitty… God, it was such a fucking high. Like, the random screenshots I’m posting don’t hold a candle to the drama that ensued.

loldraggle

Shit continued and we got to the finals, where we won on a technicality — turns out the other finalist blog (Metanorn) had been using proxies to vote, and stupidly bragged about it, causing them to get disqualified.

Yup, we totally won.

Yup, the tourney organizers (who were apparently really good friends with Metanorn staff) totally disqualified them.

But whatever the results, all the drama around the tournament turned the tournament organizers off from ever creating another aniblog contest. And they announced that they were done, and thought that would be the last of it.

Final point of order is that I’m not going to be running any of these things myself. I got fucking sick of the whole thing, and it’s not like I’m paid to put up with this.

…so I decided to make one on my own. And here we are, 494 days after the fact.

 

 

Aniblog 2014

Aniblog 2014 Processes and Procedures

In the spirit of Aniblog 2012, all polls are open to the public and will not be tampered with by the tournament organizers.

 

Aniblog 2014 Disqualifications

True_Tears

My departed friends, I love you more than you could ever know.

Here’s a list of the dead. It totals to 62 blogs, out of the 195 that were still in the tournament.

The only prerequisite for death is fewer than three actual posts in the past three months. Sorry, but “I’m still alive!” posts don’t cut it; I’ll be the judge of that. Also, keep in mind since the blogs are dead, the odds of them being infected with malware when you click through… well, I wouldn’t suggest cracking them open without an e-condom and Febreeze handy.

Spoiler:

~Ageha’s Adventure Diary~ http://sakurasounoyakusoku.wordpress.com/
A Certain Blogging Tobiichi http://tobiichi.wordpress.com/
Adumbrate & Resilient Love http://sakimichi.wordpress.com/
Aizen Gamer http://aizengamer.com/
Alafista http://www.alafista.com/
Amateur Rambling http://amateurrambling.wordpress.com/
Analog Housou http://analoghousou.com/
Ani.me http://ani.me/
Anime Anemoscope http://animeanemoscope.wordpress.com/
Anime Audiolog http://animeaudiolog.wordpress.com/
Anime Club http://no3dpd.blogspot.com/
Anime Picks http://animepicks.co.uk/
BD77’s of Figure & Plamos http://bd77.wordpress.com/
Blue Sweater Story http://aquabluesweater.wordpress.com/
Buy First, Regret Later! http://akashingou.wordpress.com/
ChocolateMix http://chocolatemix.wordpress.com/
Chromic Aberration Everywhere http://eyeforaneyepiece.wordpress.com/
Cosmic Latte http://skyvory.wordpress.com/
Denpa no Sekai http://www.denpanosekai.com/
Digimon: System Restore http://digimon.firstagent.net/
Drastic My Anime Blog http://bignanime.wordpress.com/
Engendered Dilemma http://www.engendered-dilemma.com/
Experimental Gonzo http://drgonzo7.wordpress.com/
Eye Sedso https://glothelegend.wordpress.com/
Golden Sneer http://goldensneer.wordpress.com/
Gundams with Justinius http://justiniusbuilds.blogspot.com/
Hanners’ Anime Blog http://hanners-anime.blogspot.com/
Hashihime – Anime Voices http://hashihime.blogspot.com/
His Personal Joy http://hispersonal.wordpress.com/
J-Madness http://www.j-madness.com/
Just Another Anime Podcast http://justanotheranimepodcast.com/
Just Another Heaven http://justanotherheaven.wordpress.com/
Kira-Reviews http://www.kira-reviews.com/
Kuriousity http://www.kuriousity.ca/
Let’s Anime http://letsanime.blogspot.com/
Life is just… http://myworldisbluegreen.wordpress.com/
Life of a Future Mangaka http://lifeofafuturemangaka.blogspot.ro/
Love-Colored Sky http://koiiro.wordpress.com/
Nendonesia http://nendonesia.com/
Nil http://nilblogs.wordpress.com/
Otosu Otome http://otosuotome.blogspot.sg/
Pretense W/ Glasses http://pretensewithglasses.wordpress.com/
Puppy52Dolls http://puppy52dolls.com/
Riyoga’s Ramblings http://subtlechaos.wordpress.com/
Saimoe Update Blog http://saimoe.wordpress.com/
She’s Lost Control http://sheslostcontrol.net/anime/
Shiizumi’s Anime Blog http://shiizumi.wordpress.com/
ShonenBeam http://shonenbeam.com/
Stereo Otaku http://stereootaku.wordpress.com/
THAT Shoujo Manga Blog http://thatshoujomangablog.wordpress.com/
The Awesome Critics http://theawesomecritics.com/
The Blazing Neko http://nyarth.wordpress.com/
The Check-in Station http://donkangoljones.wordpress.com/
The Manga Habit http://shinkeikaku.wordpress.com/
The Monologues of a Bored Man http://visualnovelthoughts.wordpress.com
The Rabbit Haul http://www.cooksux.com/
Tsukiyo no Hikari http://tsukiyonohikari.wordpress.com/
Twentyninenights http://twentyninenights.wordpress.com/
Uguu Cage of Love http://uguucageoflove.wordpress.com/
Valahuir’s Otaku Den http://valahuir.wordpress.com/
Weeaboo.nl http://www.weeaboo.nl/
Zone Otaku http://zotaku.com/

 

Aniblog 2014 Brackets

The following are still active by the loosest of all standards.

Inactive community? No hits? Fear not; you still qualify for my sagey attention! And you can’t opt-out, so don’t bother asking.

Spoiler:

24 Frames Per Second http://24framesps.wordpress.com/
A Case Suitable for Treatment http://suitablefortreatment.mangabookshelf.com/
AngryJellyfish’s Blog http://angryjellyfish.wordpress.com/
Ani-Culture http://www.ani-culture.net/
Ani-Gamers http://www.anigamers.com/
Anime Anthology http://animeanthology.com/
Anime Aura http://animeaura.com/
Anime Instrumentality http://blog.animeinstrumentality.net/
Anime Tree http://animetree.wordpress.com/
Anime Vice http://www.animevice.com/
Anime Viking http://animeviking.com/
Anime World Order http://www.awopodcast.com/
AniRecs http://anirecs.com/
Annalyn’s Thoughts http://annalynspot.blogspot.co.nz/
Aria Thursday http://ariathursday.blogspot.com/
AstroNerdBoy’s Anime & Manga Blog http://astronerdboy.blogspot.com/
Atelier Emily http://formeinfullbloom.wordpress.com/
Avvesione’s Anime Blog http://avvesione.wordpress.com/
Awesome Engine http://www.awesome-engine.com/
Baka-Raptor http://www.baka-raptor.com/
Behind the Nihon Review http://behind-the.nihonreview.com/
Beneath the Tangles http://beneaththetangles.wordpress.com/
Beta-Waffle http://www.beta-waffle.com/blog/
BlogSuki http://blogsuki.com/
Cacao, Put Down the Shovel! http://dmdutcher.com/
Caraniel’s Ramblings http://caraniel.wordpress.com/
Cartoon Leap http://www.cartoonleap.com/
Curry Curry Chronicles http://awesomecurry.wordpress.com/
Cutfilm Tovent http://cutfilmtovent.wordpress.com/
Deluscar http://deluscar.wordpress.com/
denpa’s blog http://akihosenomiya.net/blog/
DereMoe http://deremoe.com/
Diamonds in the Sea http://pearlsinthesun.wordpress.com/
Dynamite in the Brain http://www.dynamiteinthebrain.com/
Entravity http://www.entravity.com/
EvaGeeks http://www.evageeks.org/
Experiments in Manga http://experimentsinmanga.mangabookshelf.com/
Gagging on Sexism http://gaggingonsexism.wordpress.com/
Gaijin Gunpla http://www.gaijin-gunpla.com/
Gar Gar Stegosaurus http://gargarstegosaurus.wordpress.com/
Gareblogs https://gareblogs.wordpress.com/
GN Particles http://graemenattress.com/wp/
GoodGuyDan’s Gunpla Blog http://goodguydangunpla.blogspot.jp/
Gundam Guy http://gundamguy.blogspot.com/
Gundam Model Kits & Figures http://www.gundammodelkits.com/
Gundam Model Kits Review http://gundam3r.blogspot.sg/
Haruhichan’s Blog http://haruhichan.com/wpblog/
Hau~ Omochikaeri~! http://omochikaeri.wordpress.com/
Hinano’s Game Babbles http://breadmasterlee.com/
Hybrid Universe http://eltmanypieces.wordpress.com/
Isn’t it Electrifying? http://shibirerudarou.wordpress.com/
Itadakimasu Anime http://itadakimasuanime.wordpress.com/
Japan Powered http://www.japanpowered.com/
JEFusion http://www.jefusion.com/
Jinx! http://re-jinx.me/
Karmaburn http://karmaburn.com/
KixKillRadio http://kixkillradio.wordpress.com/
Lemons and Alpaca in Anime http://leetshoe.blogspot.com/
Loli Salad http://loli.animeblogger.net/
Lost in Anime http://www.lostinanime.com/
Lost My Thesis http://lostmythesis.wordpress.com/
Lower Mid-Table http://lowermidtable.wordpress.com/
LuRa’s Anime Blog http://lurei.wordpress.com/
Mainichi Anime Yume http://animeyume.com/blog/
Manga Report http://mangareport.mangabookshelf.com/
Manga Therapy http://www.mangatherapy.com/
Manga Xanadu http://manga.jadedragononline.com/
Maserbeamdotcom http://www.maserbeam.com/
Mdzanime http://mdzanime.me/
Mecha Damashii http://www.mechadamashii.com/
Metanorn http://metanorn.net/
Mirror of Paranoia http://mirrorofparanoia.wordpress.com/
Moe Alternative http://moe-alternative.net/
Moetron http://www.moetron.com/
Moonlit Asteria http://moonlitasteria.wordpress.com/
Moving Towards the Future http://ancientshining.wordpress.com/
Neko Magic http://www.nekomagic.com/
Neo-Shonen Fujoshi http://jansuzukawa.blogspot.com/
Ngee Khiong Ex http://ngeekhiongex.blogspot.com/
Ninety’s Blog http://ninetysblog.wordpress.com/
NuKo no Himegoto http://kirinano.wordpress.com/
Nyaa! Figurines http://www.nyaafigurines.com/
NYOtaku http://nyotaku.com/
Ogiue Maniax http://ogiuemaniax.wordpress.com/
Okazu http://okazu.yuricon.com/
OmoNoMono http://omonomono.com/
OSMCast http://www.osmcast.com/
OtaCoolTure no Saka http://yunam0n.wordpress.com/
Otaku Dan http://otakudan.com/
Otaku Generation http://otakugeneration.libsyn.com/
Otaku Lounge http://otakulounge.wordpress.com/
Otaku Overdrive http://otakuoverdrive.com/
Otaku Revolution http://otakurevolution.com/
OtakuDX http://www.otakudx.com/
Pirates of the Burley Griffin http://piratesobg.wordpress.com/
Plastikitty http://www.plastikitty.com/
Project Otaku http://www.projectotaku.com/
Quizoxy http://quizoxy.wordpress.com/
Random Curiosity http://randomc.net/
Reflective Boundary http://www.reflectiveboundary.net/
Reverse Thieves http://reversethieves.com/
Sakura Doujin http://sakura-doujin.com/
Sankaku Complex http://www.sankakucomplex.com/
Sea Slugs! http://www.seaslugteam.com/
Seventh Style http://seventhstyle.com/
Sophie’s Japan Blog http://sophiesjapanblog.com/
Spoils http://sylphalchemist.wordpress.com/
Star-Crossed Anime Blog http://psgels.net/
Subdued Fangirling http://subduedfangirling.blogspot.com/
Swabulous Max http://swabulous.wordpress.com/
Tenka Seiha http://tenka.seiha.org/
Tentacle Armada http://www.tentaclearmada.com/
The Beautiful World http://kitsunetoneko.wordpress.com/
The Cart Driver http://thecartdriver.com/
The Geek Clinic http://thegeekclinic.wordpress.com/
The G-Empire http://yurination.wordpress.com/
The Glorio Blog http://theglorioblog.com/
The Infinite Zenith http://infinitemirai.wordpress.com/
The Otaku Spot http://theotakuspot.animeblogger.net/
The Pantsless Anime Blogger http://thepantlessanimeblogger.com/
The Untold Story of Altair and Vega http://altairandvega.wordpress.com/
TheAkiba http://theakiba.com/
Through the Looking Glass http://lookingglass.kokidokom.net/
Too Old for Anime http://peterburd.wordpress.com/
Veto http://vetobendover.com/
Visual Novel Aer http://visualnovelaer.fuwanovel.org/
Visual Novels and Eroge Review http://vnerogereview.wordpress.com/
Vocaloidism http://www.vocaloidism.com/
Waylander http://waylander9.blogspot.com/
Wieselhead http://wieselhead.de/
Wrong Every Time http://wrongeverytime.com/
Yaranakya http://yaranakya.wordpress.com/
ZakuAbumi’s Anime Blog http://zakuabumi.wordpress.com/

Over the course of a year+, all surviving blogs were promoted in tournament rank. Congrats, guys. You don’t deserve it, but I’m merciful.

Aniblog_2013_Reviews_Bracket_Base_64_v11 Aniblog_2013_Editorial_Bracket_Base_64_v11 Aniblog_2013_Figures_and_VNs_Bracket_Base_64_v11 Aniblog_2013_Niche_Bracket_Base_64_v11

 

tl;dr: This should be fun.



Tags:

9 Comments

Dark_Sage says:

Goddammit, Humanity, I had scrubbed that site from my mind. RIP my soul.

RevyRevolver says:

*Enters site*

Wtf is this shit?

appropriant says:

How many updates do you think we’ll see within the month before we realistically have to wait for one until Day 2593?

Dark_Sage says:

Current plan is to have the Aniblog limited to Saturdays. Of course, there are usually good odds I’ll be doing normalfag things on the weekend so if that prevents me from posting content, Sunday will be the spillover day.

You can reasonably expect a minimum of two full rounds each weekend before I get bored and drop this whole thing at the end of the month.

PP says:

The 4 winners should totally go against each other and in the end against Crymore and see who is the ultimate bestest anime blogger.
( ¬‿¬)

Dark_Sage says:

Why, I would never enter Crymore into this sacred tournament. That would be a conflict of interest; #Aniblog2014 is about ethics in anime blogging!

Qrius says:

inb4 obligatory “Yes, I write things and put them on the Internet, but I do it for my own enjoyment, so I should be free of all criticism.” posts

Zop says:

There’s more than blogsuki? If I like bs, which ones should I give my valuable eyes to?

Leave a Comment